CGGS Library: History: Spanish Civil War

Causes and Effects of War

Important information

Guidelines for Written Work Years 7-10 2023 Guidelines for students in Years 7-10. Topics addressed include: • Guided inquiry • APA referencing • Example of a reference list • In-text referencing for beginners • Writing practical reports for Science • Citing different information types

In-text referencing

Online Reference Generator for APA style
Use your school email address to login if you'd like to save and retrieve your citations and reference lists.
Annotated bibliographies

History Today and Christian History - back issues

We subscribe to the hard copy of this wonderful journal. Check the Oliver catalogue to find the issue you want.

Search History Today's own website for references to articles. When you log into History Today using the login details on our Canvas page you can access the full article straight away.

History Today

Articles that can be found in History Today include -

Ruiz, J. (2007). Franco and the Spanish Civil War. History Today,(59).

Preston, P. (1986). Spain 1936: From Coup d'Etat to Civil Was. History Today. 36(7).

Audiovisual material

See below for a playlist of videos about the Spanish Civil war. Remember that you can also search ClickView Online using your own keywords.

ClickView Playlist: Spanish Civil War
Click here for a playlist of videos about the Spanish Civil War. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.

How to use ClickView

Research tips

Use the reference list at the end of articles to help you find additional resources that are key to your research.
Write down reference information as soon as you write your first note from a source. This will save you time later when creating reference lists and footnoting.
Other pages on the library website may help you when researching for this subject. Two webpages that may be useful are Causes of World War II.

Books from our collection

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

The Spanish Civil War by Helen Graham
Call Number: 946.081 GRA
ISBN: 9780192803771
Publication Date: 2005
This book highlights the domestic and international context of the war, and reveals its origins in the political and cultural anxieties provoked by the rapid modernization of Europe. Using personal narratives, it combines a powerfully human account of the war and its aftermath with a disturbing ethical inquiry into its legacy for the 21st century.
A Short History of the Spanish Civil War by Julián Casanova
Call Number: 946.081 CAS
ISBN: 9781350127586
Publication Date: 2019
Charting the most significant events and battles alongside the main players in the Civil War, Julián Casanova answers some of the most pressing questions, such as the roots and extent of anti-clerical violence, that have been asked in the years since the defeat of the Second Republic.
The Battle for Spain by Antony Beevor
Call Number: 946.081 BEE
ISBN: 9780143037651
Publication Date: 2006
To mark the 70th anniversary of the Spanish Civil War's outbreak, Antony Beevor has written a completely updated and revised account of one of the most bitter and hard-fought wars of the twentieth century. With new material gleaned from the Russian archives and numerous other sources, this brisk and accessible book (Spain's #1 bestseller for twelve weeks), provides a balanced and penetrating perspective, explaining the tensions that led to this terrible overture to World War II and affording new insights into the war-its causes, course, and consequences.
Causes and Effects of 20th-Century Wars by David Smith
ISBN: 9780198310204
Publication Date: 2015
Chapter 4: The Spanish Civil War: ideology and conflict in the 20th century.
The Spanish civil war by David Mitchell
Call Number: 946.081 MIT
ISBN: 0246123206
Publication Date: 1985
Ghosts of Spain by Giles Tremlett
Call Number: 946.081 GIL
ISBN: 9780571279395
Publication Date: 2012
Spaniards are reputed to be amongst Europe's most forthright people. So why have they kept silent about the terrors of their Civil War and the rule of General Franco? This apparent 'pact of forgetting' inspired writer Giles Tremlett to embark on a journey around Spain and its history. He found the ghosts of Spain everywhere, almost always arguing. Who caused the Civil War? Why do Basque terrorists kill? Why do Catalans hate Madrid? Did the Islamist bombers who killed 190 people in 2004 dream of a return to Spain's Moorish past? Tremlett's curiosity led him down some strange and colourful byroads, and brought him unexpected insights into the Spanish character.

Databases

These links take you to databases we subscribe to. Some may need a login and password. These can be found on our Canvas page.

Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Explore world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines. These resources provide information on people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
From the Ancient World to today's headlines, World History provides primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content. This database is useful when looking for a historical understanding of a topic and in History subjects.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Excellent introductory and background information can be found through the above resources. Use keywords "Spanish Civil War"

National Library eResources
Use your National Library membership number to logon or ask CGGS Library staff for help.
Use the single search option to search all of the databases or select a single database, such as JSTOR.

Articles that can be found through the NLA include

Ben-Ami, S. (1977). The Dictatorship of Primo de Rivera: A Political Reassessment. Journal of Contemporary History, 12(1), 65-84. Retrieved August 20, 2020, from http://www.jstor.org/stable/260237

Libraries ACT Research sources
The ACT Library Service provides a wide range of online databases. Use your ACT Library membership to search via their website.

Websites

Why did the Spanish Civil War start in July 1936
Excellent article from 'History Review' on the causes of the Spanish Civil War.
The Spanish Civil War - BBC
Discusses the causes, events and repercussions of the Spanish Civil War, which became an international battleground for the forces of Fascism and Communism as Europe geared up for war.
Holocaust Encyclopaedia - the Spanish Civil war
History learning site - the Spanish Civil War
Witness History
Sam Lesser, 92, was one of the last British survivors from the International Brigades. While still a student, he left the East End of London to fight the fascist forces during the Spanish Civil War.
The end of the Spanish Civil War
On 28 March 1939, General Franco’s Nationalist troops entered Madrid. See how the Guardian reported the immediate aftermath of the three-year civil war.
Google Arts and Culture - The Spanish Civil War
An overview of the War, accompanied by a selection of primary sources.