Contact and Conflict - The Making of the Modern World - History - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Pictures

Search these sites for images you can use freely:

Photos for Class Download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for school!
Pixabay All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty-free for anything you like, even in commercial applications.
Pics4learning Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting. - See more at: http://pics4learning.com/#sthash.IBPc4jp8.dpuf

Important information

Guidelines for Written Work Years 7-10 2023 Guidelines for students in Years 7-10. Topics addressed include: • Guided inquiry • APA referencing • Example of a reference list • In-text referencing for beginners • Writing practical reports for Science • Citing different information types

Books from our collection

Here are some of the books and eBooks in the Library collection on the civil rights movement in Australia topics. Find more by searching the catalogue (link below).

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

Australia's best social reformers by Butler, Mark
Call Number: 303.484 BUT
ISBN: 9781863916387
Publication Date: 1996
Biographical information on Charles Perkins and Eddie Mabo.
Freedom Ride by Ann Curthoys
Call Number: 323.4 CUR
ISBN: 1864489227
Publication Date: 2003
This book recounts the story of Australia's historic Freedom Ride--the 1965 bus journey of 29 Sydney University students to fight racism.
No Small Change by Frank Brennan; Patricia Turner (Foreword by)
Call Number: 305.899 BRE
ISBN: 9780702253324
Publication Date: 2015
In 1967, Australians voted overwhelmingly in favour of removing from the Constitution two references that discriminated against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Nearly 50 years later, there is a groundswell of support for our Indigenous heritage to be formally recognized in the Constitution. With the prospect of a new referendum in the near future, this book looks through the prism of history to examine what we can learn from our successes and failures since 1967, from the efforts of the Council of Aboriginal Affairs to the Gove land rights case and the Aboriginal Tent Embassy.
Recognition and rights of indigenous peoples by Sue Gordon
Call Number: 323.1 GOR
ISBN: 9780170244039
Publication Date: 2014
Against native title : conflict and creativity in outback Australia by Eve Vincent
Call Number: 305.89 VIN
ISBN: 9781925302080
Publication Date: 2017
'Against native title' is about one group's lived experience of a divisive native title claim in the outback town of Ceduna, where the native title claims process has thoroughly reorganized local Aboriginal identities over the course of the past decade. The central character in this story is senior Aboriginal woman Sue Haseldine, a self-styled charismatic rebel and master storyteller. This is a vivacious and very human story, which makes a vital contribution to national debates around issues of Aboriginal futures in remote and regional areas.
Aboriginal Rights Movement by World Book, Inc Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 909 WOR
ISBN: 9780716614999
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
A history of the Aboriginal rights movement in Australia, based on primary source documents and other historical artifacts. Features include period art works and photographs; excerpts from literary works, letters, speeches, broadcasts, and diaries; summary boxes; a timeline; maps; and a list of additional resources,

Databases

These links take you to databases we subscribe to. Some may need a login and password. These can be found on our Canvas page.

Suggested keywords for your searching:

Indigenous rights Australia
Australian referendum 1967
Aboriginal Australians
Rights (within your search results)
look for options to "search within results" to narrow down your searches
look at Subject headings listed on the side of the page, to make your searching specific

Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Explore world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines. These resources provide information on people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.

Articles from Online databases

These are some examples of relevant articles from our online databases,

Internal colonialism and the Gurindji people's struggle for their rights
This article looks at the impact of the Wave Hill walk off and how it created awareness among non-indigenous Australians about the treatment of Aboriginal Australians.
Aboriginal Land Rights Act

Audiovisual material

See below for a playlist of videos about the period of protests and activism that were designed to reverse discrimination and improve the rights of Indigenous Australians during the 1960s period, as well as a link to the Indigenous Studies folder of our ClickView Library. Remember that you can also search ClickView Online using your own keywords.

ClickView Playlist: Contact & Conflict
Click here for a playlist of videos about the period of protests and activism that were designed to reverse discrimination and improve the rights of Indigenous Australians during the 1960s period. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.
ClickView Folder: Indigenous Studies
Click here to browse the Indigenous Studies folder of our ClickView Library, where you will find many useful videos. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.

How to use ClickView

Indigenous Rights

History of Indigenous rights in Australia - ABC Education
Many, like the Black Power activists, believed the referendum didn't go far enough, especially in relation to land rights, and their causes gained prominence in the 1970s. Find out about some of their activities, including the landmark Mabo decision in the 1990s and the formation of the Aboriginal Tent Embassy.
A history of Aboriginal rights in WA - ABC Education
Watch footage of historical events that shaped attitudes and helped restore some of those rights and freedoms.
Meet the notable rights campaigners and find out what motivated them to spark change.

Charles Perkins

Charles Perkins in Moree - ABC Education
What did Charles Perkins organise in 1965 to challenge racist attitudes and practises in regional NSW? Watch as people discuss what happened in Moree, which illustrates the division of that time, and learn about the difference Charles Perkins and his Freedom Riders made to the Aboriginal community of Moree.

Websites

These are Websites we recommend for this subject. Let us know if you find any more we can add.

Australian Government - Department of the Environment

Australian National University. National Centre for Indigenous Studies

Constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians, 2012, speech by Professor Mick Dodson presented at the Senate Occasional Lecture Series (Papers on Parliament, no. 57) on 1 February 2012. Parliament of Australia, Department of the Senate, Canberra, ACT

Indigenous Australia - Australian Dictionary of Biography, Online Biographies provided by the ANU

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies

Australia's only national institution focused exclusively on the diverse history, cultures and heritage of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia

Publish the journal Australian Aboriginal Studies
Biography of Charles Perkins
Save our Site:The story of the campaign to save the Australian Hall, site of the 1938 Aboriginal Day of Mourning and Protest (Australia Day 26 January)
Anne Curthoy's Diaries - Anne Curthoy's diaries have become an essential piece of historical material that tells the story of the Freedom Rides.
Dawn Magazine - an excellent primary source. Magazines contain articles about the conditions and activities on reserves, stations, homes and schools throughout New South Wales, as well as highlights from the work of the Aboriginal Welfare Board.

National Archives of Australia

The Wave Hill 'walk-off' - Fact sheet

National Museum of Australia - Collaborating for Indigenous Rights

Indigenous rights and freedoms - fantastic PDF at the bottom that has information relevant to many topics.
Faith Bandler - National Museum of Australia
Freedom ride 1965 - National Museum of Australia
1967 Referendum - National Museum of Australia
Wave Hill walk off, 1966-75 - National Museum of Australia
Defining Moments in Australian history - Wave Hill Walk-Off
Aboriginal Land Rights Act - National Museum of Australia

ABC News - use the search bar in the top right corner of the page to find articles on your topic

The untold story behind the 1966 Wave Hill Walk-Off

University of Queensland

1967 Referendum Campaign

Reconciliation Australia

1967 Referendum

Barani - Sydney's Aboriginal History

Rights and Freedoms - ABC Education
Access many video resources relating to indigenous rights.
Trove (National Library)
Provided by the National Library, Trove is an excellent source of information for Australian perspectives. It offers a variety of source types, including an archive of photos and Australian newspapers that you can access online.

History: Contact and Conflict - The Making of the Modern World