CGGS Library: History: Ancient (Greece)

Pictures

Search these sites for images you can use freely.

Books from our collection

Here are some of the books and ebooks in the Library collection on Ancient Greece topics. Find more by searching the catalogue (link below). On the shelves, most books are at 938. You may also find books on other topics that include historical information from Ancient Greek times, eg. Theatre, Art, Architecture, History etc.

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

Ancient Greece by Don Nardo; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Timothy J. Griffin (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Georgia Tsouvala (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: 938 NAR
ISBN: 9780756545666
Publication Date: 2012
History and activities of Ancient Greece by Owens, Greg
Call Number: 938 OWE
ISBN: 9780431080857
Publication Date: 2007

eBooks

Ancient Greece and Rome : an encyclopedia for students by Carroll Moulton, editor-in-chief. (Gale)
ISBN: 9780684315942
Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.
Greek Drama by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438114965
Publication Date: 2009
Examines classical Greek drama, including the works of Sophocles, Aristophanes, and Euripides.

Important information

Guidelines for Written Work Years 7-10 2023 Guidelines for students in Years 7-10. Topics addressed include: • Guided inquiry • APA referencing • Example of a reference list • In-text referencing for beginners • Writing practical reports for Science • Citing different information types
Guidelines for Essays Reports and Assignments 2024 Guidelines for students in Years 11-12. Topics addressed include: • Document format • Use of computers • Excessive length • Extensions • Plagiarism • Acknowledging sources • APA referencing • Creating a reference list • In-text citation • Footnotes • Endnotes • Subsequent citations • Reference generators • Appendices • Writing practical reports for Senior Science • Citing legal information • Citing different information types

Effective Citing and Referencing
For IB students

History Today and Christian History - back issues

We subscribe to the hard copy of these wonderful journals. Check the Oliver catalogue to find the issue you want.

Search History Today's own website for references to articles. When you log into History Today using the login details on our Canvas page you can access the full article straight away.

Alexander the Great search tips

There are many useful articles in History Today. When searching in for resources consider using phrases like "Alexander the Great". By putting your phrase in double inverted comers you are asking the website to look for all of the words in your phase in that order.
Useful search terms to get you started are:
- "Alexander III Macedonia"
- "Philip II Macedonia"
- "Alexander the Great" AND "Persian Expire" (Note: by writing AND in capital letters between words/phrases you are asking the database to search for both phrases to be present in all of the results)
- "Alexander the Great" AND Military
- "Alexander the Great" AND leader
- "Alexander the Great" AND ruler
Looking at subject or topic headings associated with items in a results list after a search can help you to decide if the resource may be useful. If ALEXANDER, the Great, 356 B.C.-323 B.C. then the article is relevant to Alexander the Great.
Remember to use the limiters when searching ACT Libraries and the National Library databases to help you to refine your searches.

Books

There are books relating to Alexander the Great in our print collection. They are predominantly in 935- 938. Use the catalogue to search for them (link below). See below for some eBooks that you may find useful.

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

eBooks

Empire of Alexander the Great by Debra Skelton; Pamela Dell
ISBN: 9781438143682
Publication Date: 2016
Wars in the Ancient World (Prehistory to 600 CE) by Charles Phillips; Alan Axelrod
ISBN: 9781438163543
Publication Date: 2015
World Military Leaders by Mark Grossman
ISBN: 9780816074778
Publication Date: 2007

Databases

These links take you to databases we subscribe to. Some may need a login and password. These can be found on our Canvas page.

Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval History covers world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centres on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Information format includes videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs and timelines. It also provides suggested readings, and suggested search terms.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
From the Ancient World to today's headlines, World History provides primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content. This database is useful when looking for a historical understanding of a topic and in History subjects.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Libraries ACT Research sources
The ACT Library Service provides a wide range of online databases. Use your ACT Library membership to search via their website.
National Library eResources Use your National Library membership number to logon or ask CGGS Library staff for help. Use the single search option to search all of the databases or select a single database, such as JSTOR.
Trove (National Library)
Provided by the National Library, Trove is an excellent source of information for the Australian perspective. It has many types of information including an archive of photos and Australian newspapers that you can access online.
Ancient Greece - Student Resources in Context
Links to articles, related background information, videos, images etc.
Ancient Greece - World History in Context
Links to articles, facts, videos, news items, biographies, images etc. on this subject

Websites

Ancient Greece - the British Museum
Odysseus - the Hellenic Ministry of Culture
Smithsonian Institution - Ancient Greek Collection
Ancient Greece - History.com
AncientGreece.com
Ancient History Encyclopedia - Ancient Greece
How did the Ancient Greeks change the world?
This resource is from BBC Bitesize. The videos included do not play in our region, but transcripts are available for these.
BBC - Ancient Greece
A basic introduction to Ancient Greek theatre and architecture, design, and festivals
Ancient Greek theatre is still very now
From ABC Splash
BBC Bitesize Ancient Greece - the Olympics
A basic introduction to the Olympics.
BBC -The Olympics: Ancient versus Modern
Today's Olympic Games are based on what took place at Olympia, in Greece, nearly three millennia ago. What were the ancient Olympics like, and how different were they from those of modern times?