CGGS Library: History: Home

Key resources

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.
ClickView Online
Use your school ID and password to login. You can watch videos on any device! Find out more on the Audiovisual Services page.
National Library eResources
Use your National Library membership number to logon or ask CGGS Library staff for help.
Use the single search option to search all of the databases or select a single database, such as JSTOR.
Trove (National Library)
Provided by the National Library, Trove is an excellent source of information for the Australian perspective. It has many types of information including an archive of photos and Australian newspapers that you can access online.

Online Reference Generator for APA style
Use your school email address to login if you'd like to save and retrieve your citations and reference lists.

Harvard should only be used by continuing IB students. The preferred style at CGGS is APA. Please ask a Teacher Librarian or visit the Library's canvas page for login and password details.

Do you need login or password details?
These can be found on the Library Canvas page:

Agora - Library Database Logins and Passwords
Login details and passwords for Library databases and subscriptions can be found here.

Important information

Guidelines for Written Work Years 7-10 2023 Guidelines for students in Years 7-10. Topics addressed include: • Guided inquiry • APA referencing • Example of a reference list • In-text referencing for beginners • Writing practical reports for Science • Citing different information types

In-text referencing

Online Reference Generator for APA style
Use your school email address to login if you'd like to save and retrieve your citations and reference lists.
Annotated bibliographies

The Role of the Historian

The Historian's Many Hats: Roles of a historian
BBC History
Historians Defined -
An overview of who and historian is and what they do.
Historiography - Britannica

Pictures

Search these sites for images you can use freely.

Databases

These links take you to databases we subscribe to. Some may need a login and password. These can be found on our Canvas page.

ActiveHistory This link opens in a new window
Teacher resource
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval History covers world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centres on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Information format includes videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs and timelines. It also provides suggested readings, and suggested search terms.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Explore world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines. These resources provide information on people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
From the Ancient World to today's headlines, World History provides primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content. This database is useful when looking for a historical understanding of a topic and in History subjects.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

The Churchill Archive
A unique resource that brings nearly 800,000 documents amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his life online.

Historical Association This link opens in a new window
Their website has around 8000 pages of articles and other resources. Through their website you can find access to all of their print publishing, back list of historical publications stretching back over many decades, and their growing library of audible histories and podcasts.

Audiovisual material

See below for a link to the History folder of our ClickView Library. Don't forget that you can use the search bar in the top right hand corner of the page to search for keywords to find more relevant resources!

ClickView Folder: History
Click here to browse the History folder of our ClickView Library, where you will find many useful videos. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.

How to use ClickView

ClickView advanced searching

Recommended websites for History

Libraries ACT Research sources
The ACT Library Service provides a wide range of online databases. Use your ACT Library membership to search via their website.
JSTOR
JSTOR is available for free through the National Library. Use your membership details to log in, or speak to CGGS Library staff.
History World
The site contains interactive historical narratives. It also includes photographs and timelines.
History News Network
This site's mission is to help put current events into historical perspective.
Best of History Websites
A collection of links to dozens of History websites on all topics.
The History Files
A bank of resources useful for many topics including British Isles, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Far East and Americas. you can find images, maps, written information and primary sources.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute - Stanford
Building upon the achievements of Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the King Institute supports a broad range of activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired.
History of the Modern World, 10th Edition (Palmer)
Links to primary Sources, maps and images.
Use the menu of the left side of the screen to change chapters and look at different periods in history.
National Film and Sound Archive - Australian History clips
Clips of films, documentaries and primary sources exploring Australia's past. these resources are categorised into folders such as Federation, migration and political history.

Primary Sources Online

Sourcebook - Fordham University
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Provided by Fordham University.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Primary sources
Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University)
Digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. Originally begun with coverage of the Archaic and Classical Greek world, has now expanded to Latin text and tools, Renaissance materials, and Papyri. Contains hundreds of texts by the major ancient authors and lexica and morphological databases and catalog entries for over 2,800 vases, sculptures, coins, buildings, and sites, including over 13,000 photographs of such objects.
The Avalon Project (Yale University)
A project of the Yale Law School, this digital collection of documents in the English language encompasses ancient times through the early 21st century.

History Today and Christian History - back issues

We subscribe to the hard copy of these wonderful journals. Check the Oliver catalogue to find the issue you want.

Search History Today's own website for references to articles. When you log into History Today using the login details on our Canvas page you can access the full article straight away.

History: Home

History at CGGS