Rights and Freedoms - Australia - History - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Pictures

Search these sites for images you can use freely:

Photos for Class Download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for school!
Pixabay All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty-free for anything you like, even in commercial applications.
Pics4learning Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting. - See more at: http://pics4learning.com/#sthash.IBPc4jp8.dpuf

Important information

Guidelines for Written Work Years 7-10 2023 Guidelines for students in Years 7-10. Topics addressed include: • Guided inquiry • APA referencing • Example of a reference list • In-text referencing for beginners • Writing practical reports for Science • Citing different information types

Audiovisual material

You may like to watch a video documentary about the history of Indigenous Australiansd. You can log in to ClickView Online using your school ID and password. See below for playlists of videos about Indigenous rights and freedoms, as well as a link to the Indigenous Studies folder of our ClickView Library.

A mass political movement helped win constitutional rights in 1967, but it was built on successive, strategic campaigns conducted by the first Australians from the 1930s. Yorta Yorta man William Cooper forms the Australian Aborigines League in 1933 to continue his life-long campaign for equality. His nephew also becomes a political animal; Doug Nichols is a Church of Christ pastor who becomes a champion for those affected by the Maralinga nuclear bomb tests in the 1950s.

ClickView Playlist: Indigenous Rights and Freedoms
Click here for a playlist of videos about Indigenous rights and freedoms. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.
ClickView Folder: Indigenous Studies
Click here to browse the Indigenous Studies folder of our ClickView Library, where you will find many useful videos. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.

How to use ClickView

History of Indigenous rights in Australia - ABC Education
Type your key words into the search bar at the top of the screen to find resources from the ABC.
Change the date - link to newspaper articles on this topic

Websites

These are Websites we recommend for this subject. Let us know if you find any more we could add.

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies - Use the search bar in the top right corner of the screen to find articles on your topic.

Australian Aboriginal History - Creative Spirits. Information about the 1967 Referendum and the Aboriginal Tent Embassy, and many more topics. Includes a timeline.

Australian National University. National Centre for Indigenous Studies

Constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians, 2012, speech by Professor Mick Dodson presented at the Senate Occasional Lecture Series (Papers on Parliament, no. 57) on 1 February 2012. Parliament of Australia, Department of the Senate, Canberra, ACT

Indigenous Australia - Australian Dictionary of Biography, Online Biographies provided by the ANU

Minutes of Evidence

The Coranderrk Inquiry - Look at the menu on the left side of the screen to find additional information

National Archives of Australia - Explore the First Australians collection on this page or use the search bar to find information.

National Museum of Australia - Use the search bar to find resources using key words associated with your topic (e.g. First Australians)

United Nations
Search for the United Nations Declaration of HUman Rights
Trove (National Library)
Provided by the National Library, Trove is an excellent source of information for the Australian perspective. It has many types of information including an archive of photos and Australian newspapers that you can access online.

Books from our collection

Here are some of the books and eBooks in the Library collection on the civil rights movement in Australia topics. Find more by searching the catalogue (link below).

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.
Indigenous Rights and Freedoms - Reading List
Use this link to access a reading list of books in the library catalogue (Oliver) exploring Indigenous rights.

Print books

First Australians by Bruce Pascoe (Contribution by); Rachel Perkins (Editor); Marcia Langton (Editor); Wayne Atkinson (Contribution by); James Boyce (Contribution by); R. G. Kimber (Contribution by); Steve Kinnane (Contribution by); Noel Loos (Contribution by)
Call Number: 994.004 FIR
ISBN: 9780522853155
Publication Date: 2009
The companion book to the SBS television series. Links also provided in the Audio Visual section to the TV episodes . Information on Eddie Mabo and the 'Day of Mourning'.
No Small Change by Frank Brennan; Patricia Turner (Foreword by)
Call Number: 305.899 BRE
ISBN: 9780702253324
Publication Date: 2015
In 1967, Australians voted overwhelmingly in favour of removing from the Constitution two references that discriminated against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Nearly 50 years later, there is a groundswell of support for our Indigenous heritage to be formally recognized in the Constitution. With the prospect of a new referendum in the near future, this book looks through the prism of history to examine what we can learn from our successes and failures since 1967, from the efforts of the Council of Aboriginal Affairs to the Gove land rights case and the Aboriginal Tent Embassy.
Recognition and rights of indigenous peoples by Sue Gordon
Call Number: 323.1 GOR
ISBN: 9780170244039
Publication Date: 2014
The Other Side of the Frontier by H. Reynolds
Call Number: 994 REY
ISBN: 0868408921
Publication Date: 2006
The publication of this book in 1981 profoundly changed the way in which we understand the history of relations between indigenous Australians and European settlers. It has since become a classic of Australian history. Drawing from documentary and oral evidence, the book describes in meticulous and compelling detail the ways in which Aborigines responded to the arrival of Europeans. Henry Reynolds’ argument that the Aborigines resisted fiercely was highly original when it was first published and is no less challenging today.
Making Australian history by Anna Clark
Call Number: 994.004 CLA
ISBN: 9781760898519
Publication Date: 2022
Making Australian History catalogues and contextualises changing readings of the past, it examines the increasingly problematic role of historians as national storytellers, and it incorporates the stories of people.

History: Rights and Freedoms - Australia

Pictures

Important information

Audiovisual material

Websites

Books from our collection