CGGS Library: History: World War II (IB)

Important information

Guidelines for Essays Reports and Assignments 2024 Guidelines for students in Years 11-12. Topics addressed include: • Document format • Use of computers • Excessive length • Extensions • Plagiarism • Acknowledging sources • APA referencing • Creating a reference list • In-text citation • Footnotes • Endnotes • Subsequent citations • Reference generators • Appendices • Writing practical reports for Senior Science • Citing legal information • Citing different information types

Footnoting
Note Taking
Academic Referencing Tool
Provided by La Trobe University, this is an interactive tool that steps you through to information and examples for specific resource types.

Effective Citing and Referencing
For IB students

Books and articles from our collection

Here are some of the books, articles and eBooks in the Library collection on relevant topics. Find more by searching the catalogue (link below).

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

World War II by George Feldman; Christine Slovey
ISBN: 9780787691868
Publication Date: 2004
American Home Front in World War II Reference Library by Richard Clay Hanes; Sharon M. Hanes; Kelly Rudd
ISBN: 9780787693855
Publication Date: 2004
World War II Almanac, 2-Volume Set by Keith D. Dickson
ISBN: 9781438108049
Publication Date: 2009
World War II was a major turning point in 20th-century history, as America became a superpower and the battle between the allies and the axis powers determined the fate of nations for many years to come. As part of Facts On File's Almanacs

eBooks

The Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945 by Nicholas Doumanis (Editor)
Call Number: 940.5 OXF
ISBN: 9780199695669
Publication Date: 2016
World War II in Europe by World Book, Inc Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 909 WOR
ISBN: 9780716615095
Publication Date: 2010
A history of World War II as it was fought in Europe, based on primary source documents and other historical artifacts. Features include period art works and photographs; excerpts from literary works, letters, speeches, broadcasts, and diaries; summary boxes; a timeline; maps; and a list of additional resources.

History Today and Christian History - back issues

We subscribe to the hard copy of these wonderful journals. Check the Oliver catalogue to find the issue you want.

Search History Today's own website for references to articles. When you log into History Today using the login details on our Canvas page you can access the full article straight away.

Databases

These links take you to databases we subscribe to. Some may need a login and password. These can be found on our Canvas page.

Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Explore world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines. These resources provide information on people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
From the Ancient World to today's headlines, World History provides primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content. This database is useful when looking for a historical understanding of a topic and in History subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

National Library eResources
Use your National Library membership number to logon or ask CGGS Library staff for help.
Use the single search option to search all of the databases or select a single database, such as JSTOR.
Libraries ACT Research sources
The ACT Library Service provides a wide range of online databases. Use your ACT Library membership to search via their website.

Audiovisual material

Log on to ClickView Online using your school ID and password to access this video and find others.

ClickView Series: World War II: The Complete History
A series of colorized archive footage of important events during World War II. Chronicles Hitler's life as a failed painter and far-right activist up to his election as Chancellor of Germany, leading to his relentless rise to power, culminating in the beginning of World War II.
ClickView Folder: History
Click here to browse the History folder of our ClickView Library, where you will find many useful videos. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.