CGGS Library: Science: Energy Efficient Houses

Books from our collection

Here are some of the books and eBooks in the Library collection on energy efficient housing. Find more by searching the catalogue (link below).

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

Waste recycling and energy saving by Justin Healey
Call Number: 363.72 HEA
ISBN: 9781925339062
Publication Date: 2016
Australians dispose of about 21 million tonnes of household waste per year. Although we have made general improvements in our waste disposal habits over recent years, there is always more we can do to reduce, reuse and recycle.
Sustainable Futures by Jenny Goldie (Editor); Katharine Betts (Editor)
Call Number: 333.7 SUS
ISBN: 9781486301898
Publication Date: 2015
Fenner Conference on the Environment (2013 : Canberra, A.C.T.)
Sustainable living by Justin Healey
Call Number: 363.7 HEA
ISBN: 9781920801786
Publication Date: 2008
Issues in this book include sustainable approaches to carbon emissions reduction and offsets; renewable energy and energy efficiency; water use; ethical investment and consumer choices; greener transport; recycling and waste reduction; non-toxic materials; sustainable agriculture and food; and greener homes and buildings.

eBooks

Sustainability by Anne E. Maczulak
ISBN: 9781438173641
The early 21st century may someday be looked upon as a pivotal point in the Earth's history. At its most dramatic, this era might one day be thought of as the beginning of the end.

Websites

Your Home -Australian government site
Your Home is your guide to building, buying or renovating a home. It shows how to create a comfortable home with low impact on the environment – economical to run, healthier to live in and adaptable to your changing needs. Pages on the site include Passive Design, Energy, and House Designs.
Energy-Efficient Home Design
A US Government site, that provides lots of information to consider.
Tips for building an energy efficient home
From Ergon Energy - an electricity supply company.
Energy efficient home design
A South Australian Government website with lots of information.
Australian energy statistics
Australian Energy Statistics is the authoritative and official source of energy data for Australia and forms the basis of Australia’s international reporting obligations. It is updated annually and consists of detailed historical energy consumption, production and trade statistics.
Lots of useful links from this page.
Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS)
The Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS) is a star rating system (out of ten) that rates the energy efficiency of a home, based on its design.
National Australian Built Environment Rating System
Using a 6 star scale, NABERS helps Australian building owners understand how their asset impacts the environment.
How to design and build an energy efficient building
From the website of a French energy efficient design company.
Households - page from Energy.gov.au site
How to save energy, reduce your bills, make your home more comfortable and find available assistance from Australian, state and territory governments.
Your energy savings : rebates
Your energy savings : energy-efficient living

Energy efficiency

http://actba.com.au/eer

Audiovisual material

See below for a playlist of videos about energy efficient housing. Remember that you can also search ClickView Online using your own keywords.

ClickView Playlist: Energy Efficient Houses
Click here for a playlist of videos about energy efficient housing. You will need to log in using your school ID and password.

How to use ClickView

More websites

Databases

Search these databases for journal articles, images, videos etc. If you access these off campus, you may be prompted for logins and passwords. These can be found on our Canvas page.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use keywords like energy efficient buildings, etc. to find ebooks on a variety of relevant topics.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Use keywords to search eg. Energy efficient buildings - finds lots of videos, articles, etc.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. Resources can be browsed by topic or information type that include interactive experiments, diagrams, tables and data, videos and animations and timelines. Alternately, key word searching can be used for targeted information.

Green Cities - articles from Opposing Viewpoints in Context Database
If prompted for a password, go to the Library's Canvas page for help.
Physics eBooks
from Gale Virtual Reference library
Physics eBooks
From Infobase
New Scientist
Use the search bar to find articles on specific topics.
You need to sign in using the password information on the library Canvas page to gain access to full articles.

External databases

Libraries ACT eResources
The ACT Library Service provides a wide range of online databases. Use your ACT Library membership to search via their website.
National Library eResources
Use your National Library membership number to logon or ask CGGS Library staff for help.
Use the single search option to search all of the databases or select a single database, such as JSTOR.