History - Resources for IA and EE - Senior IB - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Internal Assessment

IBO Advice DP History - Internal Assessment Instructions
The Internal Assessment is a historical investigation and an integral part of the IB History course. It enables students to demonstrate the application of skills and knowledge, and to pursue their personal interests.
CGGS History IA Handbook

IA Examples & Advice - Agora page

Extended Essay

IBO Advice - EE History
Read through each section under History Subject-specific guidance, on the left hand side of the page:
- Overview
- Choice of topic
- Treatment of the topic
- Interpreting the EE assessment criteria
EE Examples - Agora page

Databases

Agora - Library Database Logins and Passwords
Login details and passwords for Library databases and subscriptions can be found here.

ActiveHistory
ActiveHistory provides educational resources for DP History students. All resources have been designed by full-time history teacher Russel Tarr.
History Today
Search History Today's website to access their archive of articles.
We subscribe to the hard copy of this wonderful journal.
Modern World History
Explore world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines. These resources provide information on people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Infobase eBooks
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale Academic OneFile
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.
Gale in Context: World History
From the Ancient World to today's headlines, World History provides primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content. This database is useful when looking for a historical understanding of a topic and in History subjects.

Looking for historical debates? Search Gale e-books for the History in Dispute series.

History in Dispute addresses heavily debated questions, offering students different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe. The intent of this biennial series is to provide students with an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, help stimulate critical thinking and provide ideas for papers and assignments.

Gale eBooks
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
JSTOR - Open and free content on JSTOR and Artstor
This landing page provides free access to open access resources in JSTOR and Artstor. If you want access to JSTOR articles that are not open access, please log into the National Library of Australia eResources page using your National Library membership card.

NOTE: If you have not yet joined the National Library of Australia, use this link to sign up for a login to use the eResources - Join the National Library. If you wish to access physical resources, you will need to go to the Library to request a library card.

National Library eResources
Click on the 'Start searching eResources' button (at the top of the page).
Use the single search option to search all of the National Library's databases. Alternately you can focus on specific databases. JSTOR and Australian New Zealand Reference Centre are excellent databases for sourcing academic journal articles. Please use your National Library card number to log into this resource.

Websites - Primary Sources

Wilson Centre Digital Archive
The Wilson Center Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers, journalists, and others can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.
Fordham University: Internet History Sourcebooks
a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use. Primary sources are available here mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses.
Yale University: The Avalon Project
Primary source documents in law, history and diplomacy.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses. Search by keyword, or browse the listings
Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. Originally begun with coverage of the Archaic and Classical Greek world, has now expanded to Latin text and tools, Renaissance materials, and Papyri.
Trove
Search Trove to explore amazing collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives. It’s free and available online all day, every day.

Websites - Secondary Sources

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Historical Association
This website has around 8000 pages of articles and other resources. Through the website you can find access to all print publishing, back lists of historical publications stretching back over many decades, and a growing library of audible histories and podcasts.
Spartacus Educational
Spartacus Educational is an excellent online encyclopedia with hyperlinked articles on British, German, and Russian history. It also contains sections covering both world wars.
Alpha History
Alpha History contains thousands of invaluable resources for students, including topic summaries, documents, images, maps, timelines, biographical profiles and historiographical information, as well as a range of online activities.