English - Translations and the Australian Experience - Senior BSSS - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Translations: the Australian Experience

Having explored the power of literature to encapsulate, elucidate and critique both individual and corporate identity, we are now going to express the ideas we have been exploring in our own context. The themes of Translations resonate with the Australian experience, although now, for most of us, the shoe is on the other foot. Our creative task will be to explicate the process of ‘translation’ experienced by so many who call Australia home. You are to research the experience of either First Nation People or non-English speaking immigrants, reflecting upon the relationship between language and/or place, and identity. To guide you, think about the ideas of naming, language, place and identity we have explored in our study of Translations.

Make sure you keep a record of the sources you use. You may find biographies useful, or other fiction written by First Nation People or immigrants. Unpolished Gem by Alice Pung, My Culture and Me by Gregg Dreise, The Rabbits by John Marsden and Shaun Tan, or You and Me: Our Place by Leonie Norrington and Dee Huxley come immediately to mind. (The last 3 are graphic literature.)

Databases

Agora - Library Database Logins and Passwords
Login details and passwords for Library databases and subscriptions can be found here.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Britannica is a fantastic starting point to get a general understanding of a topic.
You will notice that there are 3 options to click from when you first log in.
If you are in Year 7-8 consider starting with the middle level. for Years 9-12 go to the high option.
To access Britannica from home go the the library Canvas page and click on the link Britannica Home Access. If you are prompted for a password these are also on Canvas.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic is a useful resource for senior research in all subject areas. You only have access to open access and free journal and book resources. Ensure you tick the boxes for both ‘Open Access’ and ‘Free’ in your results list to enable you to access information you find on this database.
Wheelers eBooks This link opens in a new window
Borrow eBooks and audiobooks online 24/7! Wheelers offers a wide range of titles that can be downloaded to a variety of devices.
National Library eResources This link opens in a new window
Select eResources from the tiles.
Use the single search option to search all of the National Library's databases. Alternately you can focus on specific databases. JSTOR and Australian New Zealand Reference Centre are excellent databases for sourcing academic journal articles. Please use your National Library card number to log into this resource.

Books

First Nations Peoples

Biographies – Own Voices collection (silver sticker)
Other biography categories – some individual texts
700 – 730s
990s (994 in particular)
300-330s
230s
490s
800-830s

Immigrants

300-330s
Some fiction (i.e. Tiger Daughter, refugee books in Conflict, Does my Head Look Big in This)
994
940s
Some picture books (i.e. M is for Mutiny, The Rabbits, Waves)

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

eBooks

Websites

Websites

Senior BSSS

Senior BSSS Referencing

Audiovisual material

Websites