Sport Science - Issues in Sport - Year 10 - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Issues in Sport: Call to Action

Databases

Agora - Library Database Logins and Passwords
Login details and passwords for Library databases and subscriptions can be found here.

Britannica
Britannica is a fantastic starting point to get a general understanding of a topic.
You will notice that there are 3 options to click from when you first log in.
If you are in Year 7-8 consider starting with the middle level. for Years 9-12 go to the high option.
To access Britannica from home go the the library Canvas page and click on the link Britannica Home Access. If you are prompted for a password these are also on Canvas.
Gale Health and Wellness
Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale Academic OneFile
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.
Gale in Context: High School
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Clearinghouse for Sport
Find books and journal articles for Sports Science, Exercise Science, PDHPE etc.
Check our Canvas page for login and password.
At the top right hand corner, type your search terms into the search box, and choose "Library" from the pull-down menu.
BMC - Public Health
BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health. The journal has a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environmental, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.
National Library eResources
Click on the 'Start searching eResources' button (at the top of the page).
Use the single search option to search all of the National Library's databases. Alternately you can focus on specific databases. JSTOR and Australian New Zealand Reference Centre are excellent databases for sourcing academic journal articles. Please use your National Library card number to log into this resource.

Tips for finding information

Consider key words that relate to the topic you are exploring.
Think carefully about the key words you use in database search bars.
Look at all the information provided for resources in the search results list to determine if the resource is relevant to the topic you are investigating. This includes the title, year published, who wrote the article, the abstract and subject headings.
Once you have selected a resource from a database’s list of results, book box or this library webpage perform the following:
- Look at the table of contents and index (if provided) for key terms related to your topic. In a webpage this may mean quickly scrolling through and looking at the subheadings within the article.
- Read the introduction and conclusion as these indicate what will be explained in more detail in the body of the work.
- If you still think the article is relevant, scan the entire article, book or chapter for key words relevant to your topic.

Note: These steps will not take you very long to do, they are here to help you to save time by preventing you from carefully reading and writing notes from information that is not relevant to your topic.

Now read the information carefully. When you find relevant points write them down in your own words. As soon as you write down your first note on a topic you should also write down the reference information so that you know where you got that information from.
If at any point in this process you feel the resource is not relevant that is fine, just disregard the resource and move onto another one.
Use the reference list at the end of articles to help you find additional resources that are key to your research.

Database search result lists

You can often narrow down the number of search results by using limiters on the results page.
There are a variety of sources types in Infobase and Gale databases that can be very useful.

Books

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

Your Body for Life: Exercise from birth to old age. by Andrew Solway
Call Number: 613.7 SOL

ISBN: 9781406250237

Publication Date: 2013

According to the World Health Organisation, the number of people who are overweight or obese has more than doubled since 1980. This 'Your Body for Life' series looks at how our bodies change as we grow and get older, and how that affects the way we live and the things we need from birth to old age: Infancy, Childhood, Adolescence, Young Adulthood, Middle Adulthood to Old Age.
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology 7th Edition with Web Study Guide-Paper by Robert S. Weinberg; Daniel Gould
ISBN: 9781492572350

Publication Date: 2018-11-16

The leading textbook in sport and exercise psychology is back in a revised seventh edition, and it again raises the bar with its engaging introduction to the field. Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Seventh Edition With Web Study Guide, offers both students and new practitioners a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, drawing connections between research and practice and capturing the excitement of the world of sport and exercise. Internationally respected authors.
Physical Inactivity by Justin Healey
Call Number: 613.7 HEA

ISBN: 9781925339864

Publication Date: 2019

Only about a third of children and under half of adults are meeting Australia's Physical Activity and Sedentary Behaviour Guidelines. Most children exceed the recommended amount of screen-based activity time, while time spent sitting at leisure goes up in adults as they get older. Inactivity increases overweight and obesity, raising the risk of chronic and lifethreatening diseases like cardiovascular disease, dementia, type 2 diabetes and some cancers. Regular physical activity not only reduces health risks, it improves social and emotional health and wellbeing. Which groups of inactive Australians are most at risk of lifestyle-related illness? What levels and types of activity are required for optimal health at each life stage, and how can we incorporate regular activity into our daily lives? This book explains the risks and consequences of physical inactivity, and in turn promotes the benefits of being active. It's time to move it, or lose it.
Physical Activity and Fitness by Justin Healey
Call Number: 613.7 HEA

ISBN: 9781922084217

Publication Date: 2013

Physical activity is a key factor in maintaining good health and fitness. Being physically active has a number of significant health benefits. There has been a decline in physical activity over recent decades. this decline and related overweight and obesity is associated with an increased risk of mortality and morbidity from various diseases. This book reveals the extent of participation in physical activity by Australians and explores ways of overcoming sedentary behaviour and inactivity through appropriate forms of exercise to suit your age and situation.
Get Strong for Women by Alex Silver-Fagan
Call Number: 613.7 SIL

ISBN: 9780241305898

Publication Date: 2018

Using strength-training, cardio and weight-lifting exercises, Get Strong for Women gives you the tools you need to build muscle, burn fat and get a lean, toned body.

eBooks

The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by Tracie Moy, editor.
ISBN: 9781410379764

Publication Date: 2017

Covers a variety of topics on physiology and fitness, including sports, body systems, the body's reaction to physical fitness, exercise activities, diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues.

Websites

Youth Participation - AIS
Access:
Addressing the decline in sport participation in secondary schools: Full report
Addressing the decline in sport participation in secondary schools executive summary
Information on development areas for existing sport programs and program design and delivery principles for new sporting programs.
Office of Sport - NSW Government
Use the links on this page to find initiatives to increase teen participation in sport.
Team Girls - Suncorp
Participation Statistics and Trends - Clearinghouse for Sports
This article includes statistics and information on barriers.
Coach Education and Positive Youth Development as a Means of Improving Australian Sport
Frontiers in Sport and Active Living Article
Sport participation settings: where and ‘how’ do Australians play sport?
Research article published in 2020.
Trove - National Library
Provided by the National Library, Trove is an excellent source of information for the Australian perspective. It has many types of information including an archive of photos and Australian newspapers that you can access online.

Year 10

Junior Referencing

Audiovisual material