Sports Science - Sport Psychology - Year 10 - CGGS Library at Canberra Girls Grammar School

Sport Psychology

Finding peer reviewed articles

The Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection database will be very useful for this assignment. Remember that you can get passwords from the SS Library Canvas page.
The Gale and Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection databases listed on this page all have the option to limit searches to peer reviewed articles. To limit your search to peer reviewed articles you need to:
- in Gale - type key words into the search bar to get a list of results. Then click on 'Full Text Documents' and 'Peer-Reviewed Journals' that are found on the right side of the screen under the heading 'Filter Your Results'.
- in Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection - type key words into a basic or advanced search. In the 'Refine Results' menu on the left side of the screen click on 'Full Text' and 'Peer Reviewed'.

Tips for finding information

Consider key words that relate to the topic you are exploring.
Think carefully about the key words you use in database search bars.
Look at all the information provided for resources in the search results list to determine if the resource is relevant to the topic you are investigating. This includes the title, year published, who wrote the article, the abstract and subject headings.
Once you have selected a resource from a database’s list of results, book box or this library webpage perform the following:
- Look at the table of contents and index (if provided) for key terms related to your topic. In a webpage this may mean quickly scrolling through and looking at the subheadings within the article.
- Read the introduction and conclusion as these indicate what will be explained in more detail in the body of the work.
- If you still think the article is relevant, scan the entire article, book or chapter for key words relevant to your topic.

Note: These steps will not take you very long to do, they are here to help you to save time by preventing you from carefully reading and writing notes from information that is not relevant to your topic.

Now read the information carefully. When you find relevant points write them down in your own words. As soon as you write down your first note on a topic you should also write down the reference information so that you know where you got that information from.
If at any point in this process you feel the resource is not relevant that is fine, just disregard the resource and move onto another one.
Use the reference list at the end of articles to help you find additional resources that are key to your research.

Databases

Agora - Library Database Logins and Passwords
Login details and passwords for Library databases and subscriptions can be found here.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Gale Health and Wellness
Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale in Context: High School
Information resources for assignments, projects, and presentations across all subject areas. An excellent resource to start your search for information for Years 7-12.
Gale eBooks
A broad collection of non-fiction titles, supporting all subject areas. These non-fiction titles have varied reading levels and are useful for students from Years 7 to 12.
Infobase eBooks
A collection of non-fiction e-books that cover all topic areas. These resources range from encyclopaedias to subject and topic specific information. Access these books directly on your devise by exploring via topic area or using the search bar with key words.
Gale Academic OneFile
Search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC.
Informit Explore
An Australian database that provides both print resources and Australian news clips. An ideal database for all subject areas when you need an Australian and Asia Pacific perspective.

Websites

Fear of failure, psychological stress, and burnout among adolescent athletes competing in high level sport
This article is on the PubMed site.
PubMed is a fantastic database for Sport Science research. You will find related articles at the bottom of this article. Also, type key words into the search bar to find additional resources.
ResearchGate
An open access online database. It is free to join or you can search from this page without making an account. Use the search bar at the top left of this page to find articles on your topic.
Sport Psychology Today
A results list for a search relating to coaching. Use the search bar to find articles on your specific anxiety management strategy.

Books

Library catalogue (Oliver)
Use the Library catalogue to search for books and other resources. Find out more on the Read page.

Print books

Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology 7th Edition with Web Study Guide-Paper by Robert S. Weinberg; Daniel Gould
Call Number: 796.01 WEI

ISBN: 9781492572350

Publication Date: 2019

Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology provides students with a unique learning experience taking them on a journey through the field's origins, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field. After this introduction to the field, the text shifts focus to personal factors that affect performance and behavior in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. It augments those concepts by factoring in situational circumstances that influence behavior, group interaction and processes, and the use of psychological techniques to help people perform more effectively. Students will gain critical insights into the role psychological factors play in health and exercise and the psychological consequences of participation in sport and physical activity, including children's psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts.
Mental Toughness for Young Athletes by Troy Horne; Moses Horne
Call Number: 796.01 HOR

ISBN: 9780578660639

Publication Date: 2020

Mental Toughness For Young Athletes is a book designed to help kids and teens find and strengthen their mental toughness mindset muscle. There are a lot of books out there for mental toughness for the adult mind, but not a lot for the developing mind. This book fills the gap. Filled with proven, easy to apply, 5-minute exercises, "Mental Toughness For Young Athletes" is a chronicling of an actual youth athlete's mental toughness journey. In the book he and his father talk about their mental toughness struggles and successes. They also give the exact mental toughness exercises that helped them down their path towards their success. If you have a young athlete who is struggling with finding and growing their mental toughness this book is for you. Real proven exercises with a young athlete's perspective.
Psychology and sport by Sally Gadsdon
Call Number: 796 GAD

ISBN: 9780435806583

Publication Date: 2001
Sports Psychology - a Complete Introduction by John Perry
Call Number: 796.01 PER

ISBN: 9781473608467

Publication Date: 2015

Sport Psychology: A Complete Introduction is designed to give you everything you need to succeed, all in one place. It covers the key areas that students are expected to be confident in, outlining the basics in clear, jargon-free English and providing added-value features like summaries of key experiments and even lists of questions you might be asked in your seminar or exam.